Could this finally be the end for premature email embarrassment?
The days of frantically trying to recall a prematurely-sent email could be at an end, thanks to a nifty new feature from Google.
The company has revealed an ‘Undo Send’ for Gmail which will allow users to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts. Upon sending, a thin yellow bar will appear at the top of the screen, giving users the chance to cancel the email delivery.
Users can set a time limit for how long they want to leave it, from 5, 10, 20 and 30 seconds, for those who truly want to live on the edge.
‘Undo Send’ will only work on laptops, not smartphones or tablets, and Gmail users will need to turn on the feature by enabling ‘Undo Send’ from the General tab in Gmail settings.
The feature is being rolled out gradually over the next two weeks to Gmail users, and follows an initial launch on Google’s Inbox for Gmail service, which forms part of its recent Google for Work platform.
Inbox promises a more interactive email experience by adding more real world information to traditional email and incorporating elements of Google Now.
What do you know about Google? Try our quiz!